Banana Bread for Brekkie!

by heartmindtummy

Does banana bread count as breakfast? It has to. Especially when it’s homemade and tastes this good. Well, actually who cares? I say it does, and it was so good fresh out of the oven last night, I just had to have it for brekkie this morning!

IMG_20140915_113843IMG_20140915_113813 IMG_20140915_113956

I used this recipe as my base. I substituted some greek yoghurt for some of the milk (i.e. used 1/4 cup greek yoghurt + 1/4 cup milk). Omitted the chocolate because hubs didn’t want it marbled but that didn’t bother me. We had a slice each last night when it was still warm, and I sprinkled mini choc chips on my slice (it was dessert after all) and the choc chips softened and became gooey andmelty but not runny…oh my. Just yummy. So yummy that I forgot to take a photo 🙂

The changes I made resulted in the loaf needing about 35-40 minutes to cook through in a loaf pan. After about 20 mins I kept checking to see if it was cooked; I’m guessing that’s part of the reason why it cracked on the top.

That didn’t affect the cake itself though! It still turned out delicious and moist, with few crumbs so it makes it an easy snack to eat without too much mess (a.k.a. without a plate) 🙂

You could top this with maple syrup or honey, more yoghurt, more bananas, nutella, cream cheese, or your favourite topping. I prefer a no-nut cake but you could definitely add some in the batter, or sprinkled on top.

Peanut butter is up there among my favourite toppings, so that’s what I had on my slice this morning. Hehehe

IMG_20140915_154128

…Is it tea time yet? 😉