Myrtle by Colette Patterns (Versions 1 and 2 mashup)

by heartmindtummy

It’s been a while since my last post – the last few weeks have been a bit of a whirlwind – and this will be a short post, but I needed to share.

I finally got around to purchasing a pattern from Colette Patterns – very cute blog with sewing patterns for even cuter clothes that I first heard about while living in Australia. The pattern I bought was their latest – the ‘Myrtle‘, a pattern for beginners. The website has done sewalongs for their patterns in the past, and this was no exception. I bought the pattern, fabric and notions, and eagerly anticipated the start of the sewalong…

Unfortunately, the challenges and activities that come along with moving to a different country prevented me from following the sewalong as the various instalments were released. BUT I eventually got some time to do it, and I’m so glad I did.

The finished garmet:

Front:

Baroque Myrtle 1

Back:

Baroque Myrtle 3

Ok peeps, ‘sewing talk’ from here on in πŸ™‚

In the introduction to this pattern, the creators had this to say:

A quick make with a fun twist

Like most knits, Myrtle is a quick sew (and it’s pretty fast in a woven too).

With only four main pattern pieces (plus pockets), cutting time is minimal. Just like Mabel and Moneta, you can whip this baby up in a matter of hours.

Plus, it is honestly really fun to put together. Myrtle has a clever self-lined front bodice that is cut all in one piece, folded, and sewn to help give a clean finish inside.

Now although I made this dress, I won’t call this a pattern review. I don’t kid myself that I have the expertise to critique what could have been done better or easier, etc. However, I will say that while I was making this dress I found it, for the most part, a breeze. And let’s be honest here, they had me at ‘pockets’. I LOVE pockets in a dress.

I wanted to a knee-length version, but in the model photos of Version 1, the dress looked below knee length. So I sort of cut the fabric according to the XL length for version 2 (just the length, not the width) and without the shoulder tabs. So I actually just mashed up the 2 version to make what I wanted. Call me lazy. Call it creative. Call it making life harder for myself. I just can’t follow a pattern like I’m supposed to πŸ™‚

The hardest/most time-consuming parts for me were:

1. Trying to match up my fabric pattern while cutting the fabric to ensure the fabric didn’t look TOO disjointed when I sewed the various pieces together. The more I sew, the more I notice this in garments. I know mine still looks disjointed, but I was trying to minimise how obvious it was…

2. Sewing the shoulders – I just found the instructions a little too vague/contradictory. This could be down to my inexperience…

I didn’t do the small bust adjustment even though I really need it, but I did force myself to follow the instructions for sewing the waist band. Normally I would sew the casing, leave a gap, thread elastic through, and close gap. I was very tempted, but I told myself that I should learn a different method of doing it. I think both methods work; what I use next time I need to sew a casing for an elastic band would probably just depend on how I feel πŸ™‚

I have a short torso (torso:leg ratio) so I shortened the top (at the shoulders) and this seemed to help as an alternative to the small bust adjustment. The cowl neck doesn’t flop open as much when I lean over, and the bodice fits me much better. Less slack in the fabric under the cowl. As I mentioned before, I lengthened the skirt so the finished product hit the top of my knee.

Little details make me happy, like this perfectly aligned seam. Hey, if I’m gonna make it myself, I might as well ensure details like that are right, right?! πŸ™‚ No one else will notice, but it makes me far more satisfied about what I make when I’m able to do this.

Baroque Myrtle 2

Long story short: I would definitely keep this in my arsenal of patterns to make again and again, It was quick and with different fabrics, can be dressed up or down. LOVED IT.

