Little things

by heartmindtummy

The weekend is only half over but I will look back on it as one that reminded me that kind gestures, no matter how small, can make someone’s day.

Last night, I attended a surprise birthday party that a friend’s wife had spent the last week organising for him. We snuck into their home while they were put at dinner, and he was truly touuched and surprised to see about 20 people there when he got home. Ahh, warm and fuzzy.

The second reminder resulted from an impulse online purchase that I made for a gift for my manager’s sister, whom I have never met, but through my manager, I know she has had quite a difficult pregnancy and I felt for her. The item is really for the daughter she is expecting, a very small gift in the scheme of things. But, I love shopping as much for others as I do for myself, and it was an instant decision to purchase this particular item. As such, I was very surprised by the reaction I got when I first gave it to my manager at work yesterday, and again when she gave it to her sister today.

It was a valuable lesson that a gesture, no matter how small, means a lot to the recipient. It doesn’t have to be a big or expensive gift. And if your actions are genuine, you somehow feel equally touched that they appreciated what you did. I guess kindness really does make the world go round.

