Househunting

by heartmindtummy

Another Saturday spent househunting for our first home to own. We’ve been looking on and off since the end of last year, but apart from one of the very first houses that we saw, none have been true prospects thus far.

Today, we found one that we really like as it is (i.e. no work needed), in a great  location. However, of all the houses that we’ve looked at, this one attracted the most viewers at the inspection today. There were at least 4 other interested parties, most of them around our age or younger, turning up with their whole families (parents, siblings, etc!). Now that I think of it, it was probably a tactical move – to put off prospective competition like ourselves… Now there’s a thought. Anyway, I digress. We think that the competition may be very stiff for this one, and given that it’s only got 2 bedrooms, we’re not willing to pay more than the quoted range at the auction next week, if we decide to bid, that is.

There were a couple of others that we liked, that were slightly more expensive than the one I just talked about, but surprisingly, the front runner at the moment seems to be a house that no one else would even look at. It is currently being used as a rental property and the tenants are DISGUSTING. I will spare you the details, but suffice to say that 3 or 4 months ago I would probably not have made it through the entire house without wretching. No one was more surprised that I would consider it than my husband, who has seen me rule out houses that have presented much better at inspection than this one. I think even the agent didn’t think that a single person would show interest in the place. But it’s structurally very sound, and would be easy to fix up (after I disinfect the entire place!) so watch this space for news on that.

It’s exciting that we have finally found one that we can see some potential in.

