Spicy beans + beef tortillas and Nutella goo!

by heartmindtummy

image

I can’t remember the last time we had friends over for dinner, but it must have been about 2 months ago. We spent almost a month in that time travelling, so it feels like ages ago now. Easily rectified. I got my husband to invite a couple of our friends and their partners over after the boys spent the day mountain biking.

I love having friends over.

1. It gives them a reason to travel 45 mins or so to visit us (for some people, 45 min is not too far, but our urbanite friends seem to think so) 😉 ;

2. It gives me the opportunity to test out new recipes and cook things I otherwise wouldn’t when it’s just my husband and I (too much work, too big portions etc); and

3. It gives us a chance to catch up without feeling like we are being hurried if we stop ordering drinks/food, and as a result, it’s a much more economical night.

Don’t get us wrong – we love eating out as well, but I think I’m much more a cafe girl than night owl. 🙂

So, what to cook for 3 men after a day of mountain biking, and 3 women (1 vegetarian)? I decided on tortillas in a convoluted way. Based on a recipe out of a Mexican cookbook, I boiled diced beef and shredded the cooked meat. Separately, I made a spicy bean dish (sort of like a vego version of chilli con carne) and served these with cheese salad leaves and tortilla wraps so everyone could build their own tortilla. I’d never made the meat that way before, but definitely something to keep in mind for future.

Dessert was an experiment. In the May 2012 issue of delicious magazine is a recipe for chocolate, hazelnut and Frangelico tart. For numerous reasons, I didn’t want to make the chocolate pastry so I decided to try making the filling, on its own, in a small tray. I substituted Kahlua for the Frangelico as I didn’t have the latter.

As you can see from the picture, it looked like a brownie but was soft and gooey with some crunchy toffee-like bits. Chunks of hazelnuts, chocolate and alcohol – what’s not to love? 😉 It was very well received by our guests.

P.s. we had leftovers of the beef + beans so I roasted some eggplants and mixed that into the leftovers, topped with cheese and baked 20 mins. Voila! Instant Monday night dinner.

